Blog Single

11 Jan

Third Buddhist Council: 250 BC
Third Buddhist council was held in 250 BC at Pataliputra under the patronage of King Asoka and under the presidency of Moggaliputta Tissa
The teachings of Buddha which were under two baskets were now classified in 3 baskets as Abhidhamma Pitaka was established in this council, and they were known as “Tripitaka” It also tried to settle all the disputes of Vinaya Pitaka
Fourth Buddhist Council: 72AD
The Fourth Buddhist Council was held at Kundalvana, Kashmir in 72 AD under the patronage of Kushan king Kanishka and the president of this council was Vasumitra, with Aśvaghosa as his deputy This council distinctly divided the Buddhism into 2 sects Mahayan & Hinayan
Another Fourth Buddhist Council was held at Tambapanni (one name of Sri Lanka) at Aloka Lena under the patronage of Vattagamani-Abaya However, most scholars agree that this was not eligible to be called a Council as it was not under a king but a local chieftain This council is also related to the cruel policy of Vattagamani-Abaya towards Jains, as it is said that a jain premises was destroyed and a Mahayan temple was built

Related Posts

Leave A Comment