Blog Single

06 Jan


Dharma: Dharma is given the foremost rank in the scriptures Today, it coresponds to religious, social and/or moral righteousness
Artfta: material and/or financial means of living
Kama : pleasure including sensual pleasures
Moksha: Liberation; or renunciation as well as detachment
The Hindu Philosophy says that Dharma is the gateway to Moksha
Ashrama System
Four stages of the lifespan of 100 years were not established in the early Vedic era They were well established in the later Vedic era and 4 Ashrams were:
Brahamcharya Ashram: The first 25 years were set for student life
Grihastha Ashram: The age from 25 to 50 years was kept for having a family and discharging the worldly duties such as giving birth to children and raising them
Vanaprastha Ashram: Age from 50-75 years was fixed for partial retirement and living life in forests
Sanyas Ashram: The last age of 75-100 years was fixed for complete retirement from the world
The fourth ashram has not been mentioned in early Vedic texts The Sanyas ashram is mentioned in Jabala Upanishad
Sacrifices & Rituals
Rajsuya: This sacrifice conferred supreme power to King
Asvamedha: Authorized the King an unquestioned control over an area
Vajapeya: It was a chariot race in which the Royal Chariot was to win race against the kinsmen This elevated the Raja to a Samrat
Garbhdharana: The conception ceremony
Pumsayam: Ritual to procure a male child
Sementonayam: Ritual to ensure safety of the child in womb
Jatakarma: Birth ceremony performed prior to cutting the umbilical chord of the newborn infant
Culakarma: performed in 3rd year of the baby’s life
Upnayana: performed in the eighth year to confer dvija status
Important Terms in Vedic Era

Related Posts

Leave A Comment