Blog Single

02 Feb

Indian History Chronology: Ancient India to Modern India

Indian History Chronology: Indian History is a topic of interest to many including foreigners because of the cultures and civilizations existed in this sub-continent. History of India can be studied under political, cultural, religious or economic heads.

Indian History Chronology
Chronologically, Indian History can be classified into three periods – Ancient India, Medieval India and Modern India.

Ancient India (Pre-historic to AD 700)

There were activities of proto-humans (Homo erectus) in the Indian subcontinent 20 lakh year (2 million years) ago, and of Homo sapiens since 70,000 BC. But they were gathers/hunters.
The first inhabitants of Indian subcontinent might have been tribals like Nagas (North-East), Santhals (East-India), Bhils (Central India), Gonds (Central India), Todas (South India) etc.
Most of them are speakers of the Austric, pre-Dravidian languages, such as Munda and Gondvi.
Dravidians and Aryans are believed to be immigrants who came later to the sub-continent.
Ancient India can be studied under other heads like Paleolithic, Mesolithic, Neolithic and Chalcolithic period – based on the type of stone/ metal tools people used.


For More Details About Indian History Chronology: Ancient India to Modern India refer PDF..!


Related Posts

Leave A Comment