Blog Single

17 Dec

The Extent of Vedic Civilization: Sapta Sindhu, Brahmavarta and Aryavarta

The Extent of Vedic Civilization: Sapta Sindhu, Brahmavarta and Aryavarta
From their original home in Central Asia, the Aryans moved towards South-west in around 2000 BC and settled mainly in two areas in modern Afghanistan First was the region between modern Kabul and Peshawar while another was Kandahar which was linked Quetta via the Bolan Pass In around 1400 BC, they further crossed various rivers and proceeded either towards Swat Valley or towards Punjab and Indo-Gangetic plains This entire region including Afghanistan, Swat Valley, Punjab and Indo-Gangetic watershed has been referred in Rig-Veda once as the Sapta Sindhava or Sapta Sindhu (the land of seven rivers)
The seven rivers of Sapta Sindhu
The scholars have puzzled themselves in defining the seven rivers of Sapta Sindhu TheNadistuti sukta of Rig-Veda mentioned ten rivers viz Ganga, Yamuna, Saraswati, Sutudri, Parusni, Asikni, Marudvrdha , Vitasta , Arjikiya and Susoma The Shutudri is old name of Sutlej, Parushni of Ravi, Asikni of Chenab and Vitasta of Jhelum Apart from these 10 rivers, the Kubha River (Kabul), Suwastu (Swat) Kramu (Kurram) & Gomati (Gomal) Rivers have also got place in Rig-Vedic texts Thus, any of these might be the seven rivers of Sapta Sindhava region
Another set of scholars believes that Sindhu and Saraswati were most sacred rivers of that era They argue that the hymns in praise of Saraswati are some of the oldest composed 8000 years ago As per this argument, Sapta Sindhu region comprised of river Saraswati, Indus and five tributaries of Indus viz Sutudri (Sutlej), Parusni (Ravi), Asikni (Chenab), Vitasta (Jhelum) and Vipas (Beas) river This term is also found in Avesta

Related Posts

Leave A Comment